The adventure has begun

I’ve been in Australia now for ten days, and as I write this I’m currently on the Greyhound coach from Newcastle to Port Macquarie which will be my third stop. So my first post is definitely overdue!

So here’s a snapshot of what I’ve been up to so far …

My adventure started on Wednesday 6th April 2016 with a tearful goodbye at Newcastle Airport.

image.jpeg

After three flights (Newcastle-Heathrow-Hong Kong-Sydney) I finally arrived 26 hours later on Thursday 7th April ready to start my Aussie adventure.

I spent my first week in Sydney where I stayed at Wake Up (a fab hostel near Central Station). To summarise, my week consisted of the following:

Selfies at Sydney Harbour (yes, I have bought a selfie stick!):

20160409_005517677_iOS

Fireworks at Darling Harbour:

20160409_103327811_iOS

A brilliant day trip to Port Stephens with Coast Warriors, which included hiking up to an amazing viewpoint, swimming and cider at the beach, an Aussie BBQ, snorkelling (which ended in me having stones picked out of my feet with a safety pin), sandboarding and a beautiful sunset:

A lazy afternoon reading by the beach in Manly:

20160411_032417291_iOS

Sunset at the Opera House:

20160411_090608939_iOS

Yoga at sunrise at the highest point in Sydney (Sydney Tour Eye), with 360 degree views over the city:

20160412_222024264_iOS

And of course no trip to Sydney would be complete without a visit to beautiful Bondi Beach:

On Thursday 14th April it was time to start my journey up the East Coast, and being from the North East of England, a trip to Newcastle was an absolute must!

I had my first Airbnb experience and loved it! I stayed with a lovely lady called Robyn in an apartment right by the foreshore. Robyn was great and really made me feel welcome; I left having made a great friend.

I spent two lazy days just wandering along the foreshore and the beach, and even spotted a dolphin in the harbour! I went out for Paella with Robyn and her friends, and we hired some bikes and took them on the ferry across to Stockton (again another must do for me having worked in Stockton back at home). I also had my first Korean meal, homemade by Robyn, which left me with no sensation at all in my lips thanks to the green chillies!

It’s safe to say these past ten days have been whirlwind, with so many new experiences and I’m having the best time.

I’m only at the beginning of my trip with so many more exciting times ahead, but I can already say that I have fallen in love with this country and I never want this adventure to end!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

